Daddy’s Girl

Charlotte is now just over 21 weeks old, and it will be another 16-20 weeks before we get to officially meet her. But the time is quickly running out! The closer we get, the more real it becomes. We are beginning to see little bits of her personality (and maybe not, but I like to think so). She doesn’t like loud noises, she prefers women’s voices to men’s, and she LOVES her daddy. A couple of weeks ago, he was gone for about 4 days. During those 4 days, she was extremely still, hardly moving at all. As soon as he got home and she heard his voice, she went back to her constant flips and tumbles! He was singing to her the other night, and she started dancing, it was awesome.

I have never had children, so I really don’t know what it is like to be a mother, but I think I have a pretty good image of what a mom is because my mom is awesome. But dad’s are another story. My birth father left our family when I was only 3 or 4 years old. My mom married my “step father” when I was 9. At first that was a really rough situation … I’ll be honest, I was pretty much a spoiled brat who made life way worse than it had to be. But as I got older, I began to realize the difference between a “father” and a “dad”. My father will always be my father, simply by virtue of my DNA. But Jim really became my “dad”. He was the one that took me to father-daughter square dancing (okay, it was once), came to my school events, took me on “dates”, celebrated my birthday, and made my Christmas’ special. And while he’s been a great dad, I wonder what it will be like to see Charlotte with her father. What will she inherit from him? Will she look like him? Act like him? Talk like him? Sing silly songs like him? Its going to be an interesting experience learning this Father-Daughter relationship …

fatheranddaughter.jpg
One thought on “Daddy’s Girl

Leave a Reply

