i am woman, hear me… whisper… ??

The Womens Conference this past weekend was so great. Anytime I hear “Womens” or “Ladies”, I have a tendency to tune out because I forget that I qualify for that category now (am I the only one who forgets that they aren’t 15?) So anyway … I went, and it was great! While everything was awesome, there were a couple of things said that really struck me.

Pastor Debbie quoted from a book called Fight Like A Girl and said “There is more power in a woman’s whisper than the shout of a man”. And then Pastor Connie was talking about being meek and lowly in heart, and how she sees that as “having great power but not making a big deal about it”. She compared it to a little old Asian ninja that has great amazing power but doesn’t go around picking fights and will actually avoid fights (remember Mr. Miagi from Karate Kid … wax on, wax off!) One of the verses in the Bible I have really struggled with is 1 Peter 3:4 “rather let [your adornment] be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God.” Most people that know me wouldn’t exactly use the word “quiet” to describe me. So for a long time I wondered if my general volume and personality was a bad thing. Did I need to be quiet and stand more towards the back of the crowd? But then when I began to learn about Motivational Gifts, and I realized that God made me this way. He gave me the gifts I have, the gifts that tend to land me in leadership roles and speaking up about things. So then how does that reconcile with the “gentle and quiet” deal?

I wish I could say that I have an answer. A formula that adds it all together and ties it up in a nice pretty bow … but honestly, I don’t. I know that God doesn’t make mistakes, and He made me exactly the way He did for a reason. But what Pastor Connie and Pastor Debbie said really began to shoot me in the right direction. Proverbs 17:27 says “He who has knowledge spares his words, and a man of understanding is of a calm spirit.” So it all ties together somehow … being what God created me to be while still possessing and displaying the Gentle Quiet Spirit that is of great worth to God … and when I figure it out, I’ll probably write a book on it. Because I know I’m not the only one who wonders …

398px-rose_bud_hdr.jpg

2 thoughts on “i am woman, hear me… whisper… ??

  1. i know what ya mean about the womens/ladies events – the retreat was the first ‘adult’ thing i think ive participated in… but if its any consolation, i dont think youre lout. i think you are wonderful, and so in control of yourself — some people are loud because they are uncontrollable — but to me, you have a very controlled, and in charge… way. about you. and i like that. — i will have more of that one day! 🙂

  2. remember what Sharon Kelly said also though… “being a woman of faith doesn’t mean that you are to conform to certain, “tags”… if you’re loud, don’t try to change that about yourself, God made you that way. Just find a way to use those characteristics for something great.”

    … no doubt you will!

Leave a Reply

