Spreading My Wings

My last official day at “work” was Thursday.  I haven’t blogged about it yet because I wasn’t sure what to say.  People have been asking me since they found out I was changing careers, if I was sad to be leaving.  I have mixed feelings about it, honestly.  On the one hand, I’m so super excited about staying home with Charlotte that I can’t really think of much else.  But of course at the same time, I’m gonna miss being Pastor’s assistant. 

With any life change comes excitement and hesitation.  I loved my job, and for the most part, I think I was pretty good at it.  (You’d have to ask Pastor for an honest opinion on that one haha).  If the opportunity ever presented itself, I would take the job again in a minute!  Pastor Steve is by far, hands down, the BEST person to ever work for.  Sure, he expects and requires excellence, but that is what has gotten this ministry to the place that it is today.  That is why LWFC has been able to successfully make a difference in so many people’s lives!  Plus, you don’t ever have to guess as to what is going to “pass” … you know if its not the best, keep trying.  Another thing I really appreciate about Pastor is his grace.  Whenever I made a mistake (and really, it only happened once or twice … haha), he never made me feel like I was a moron for making that mistake. I’ve had bosses that did that.  He always gave me grace to fix the mistake and helped me to learn how to improve for the future.  Working for him taught me so many things, not only professionally but emotionally and spiritually as well.  One thing about Pastor that most people actually do know is that he really for real does love what he does.  He loves this church.  And that is so contagious.  You can see that reflected in the staff … he literally has to beg them to take all thier vacation days … because we would have all gladly camped out at the church. He is so accomodating and understanding of our need for family life. 

When I was graduating college a song came out that really said what I was feeling.  I was sad to be leaving college, but so excited about what life held for me.  And I think this song is very appropriate for this same situation (you can pretty much ignore the verses.  The chorus is really the good part). The excitement … and the hesitation.

Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere, I love this church.  You’ll see me around … probably more than you should, but I can’t help it … I love this place! So… here I go … learning how to fly!

3 thoughts on “Spreading My Wings

  1. It was strange not seeing you up front this weekend assisting Pastor Steve. I know you are enjoying your time at home and being able to come to service when everyone else does, instead of being the first one there…lol! Congrats on the new career change 🙂

  2. Jen we are going to miss you soooooo much. We so appreciate everything you’ve done for LWFC and Pastor Steve. I hope we will get to see you when we visit Raleigh. Can’t wait to see pics of Charlotte. Love you all,
    DAC

Leave a Reply

