nope, i quit

… for now anyway.  I tried cloth diapers today. Diaper #1 lasted 45 minutes. At that rate I will use like 20 diapers during the day, and I don’t even want to imagine what to do for night time.  And as she was wearing that first diaper, I was researching all the different ways to clean cloth diapers.  That’s just a lot of work, and uses so much water! So now I’m torn.  If I had all the supplies to really do this right, then I think it could work.  But I don’t want to go out and get all the stuff I’d need to make this work just to discover that it doesn’t actually work for us.  So for now, those cloth diapers I bought will be great burp clothes.  Maybe I’ll try again some other time. But for now, I have about a months worth of disposable diapers that I didn’t have to buy.  So I’ll go through those while I decide if I really want to do cloth diapers.  As Granola Green Mom as I want to be, I just don’t know if I want to do this.  Homemade laundry detergent and glass bottles are one thing … but cloth diapers … I just don’t know.

Let’s do the math.

Charlotte goes through 6-8 diapers a day.

There are 56 in the package.  Which means she goes through a package a week.

I can get that package for $10.  So we spend $40 a month in diapers.

If she stops using diapers at age 2, that would be 24 months of diapers = $960.

Based on today, she would use 15 cloth diapers a day.  The initial cost of those diapers are about $30, but you have to have enough for about 3 days to keep laundering time in mind, so $90.

Then you need covers (5 for $60), fasteners (3 for $10), diaper pail ($20), spatula ($1), and detergent ($10 a month, $240).

Cloth diaper total = $420

Okay, so the prices are way different. But is it really worth the time and energy? I’m just not convinced yet.  Have any of you done cloth diapers? What did you think? Why did you do it?

8 thoughts on “nope, i quit

  1. Disposables weren’t an option when my older son was a baby (did that sound too much like “well, when I was your age…” :-)). What a huge mess cloth diapers were! It took a lot of time and energy just to deal with the laundry, which as a single mom with a job and going to school I didn’t have. Also the environment really wasn’t on my radar back then. And he had more diaper rash than my younger son had when disposable diapers came along. So all that to say – go Pampers!

  2. & she will use less diapers the older she gets… by the time she is around 7 months it will be roughly half what she uses now in a day. Although you pay just as much for a package of size 4’s as you do size 5’s, but the 5’s have less amount of diapers per pack.

  3. exactly what vanessa said

    when i was pregnant, during my ‘venture to find all there is to know about babys’ i was convinced that i would be and economically friendly financialy aware mom by using cloth diapers,….. yeah, it didnt happen either, lol 😉

  4. I’m the oldest of seven and my mom used cloth diapers with all of us except for the youngest. Being the oldest I had to help out and I have changed my fair share of diapers. While pampers cost more I’d rather do them and be able to throw them out than to deal with cloth. It’s just more extra laundry and we already do alot of laundry. Anything that makes my life simpler is what I’m going to do. I’m with you on wanting to be “green” conscience but you have to decide is it worth all the extra time you will have to put into it. Ask yourself, “What is my time worth?”

  5. with her using less and less as she grows older you will save several hundred dollars over 2 years. that = a savings of less than $10 a month. Granola wanna be 😉
    can’t wait till she gets old enough to drop those glass bottles. ;-0
    we made a majority of josiah’s baby food tying to be granola. that was pretty easy. but we used the “evil” microwave!!!!

  6. A while back I did a program at my nature center about raising an “eco-baby”. I found a ton of info on the net. Here are a few sites:
    http://www.thenewparentsguide.com/diapers.htm
    http://www.verybaby.com/ccp0-display/health.html
    http://weblog.xanga.com/janeenoel/657269469/cloth-diapering.html

    (do a search for “disposable vs cloth diapers” and you’ll find many more)

    About the water use, actually disposables waste about 2.3 times as much water than cloth. This is during the production of disposable diapers, which for some reason isn’t usually taken into account when comparing the two.

    Not even looking at the environmental impact (which is huge), my main concern of using disposable diapers would be the health concerns. Disposables have, among other things, dioxins (a known cancer-causing chemical), sodium polyacrylate (causes allergic reactions), and dyes which can damage the central nervous system. Sorry to be a Debbie Downer, but it’s true!

    Cloth diapers also help toddlers potty train faster because they actually feel when they’re wet.

    p.s. Glad you like the laundry detergent, isn’t it great? I love the way it smells. My boyfriend has caught me sniffing clean towels and clothes several times already. ha!

  7. ok so, of course, being the only one that LOVED cloth diapering. I will tell you, the way that diapering was “back then” and the way it is now are very different. Right now, you are doing it the way our mothers probably did. I’ll bring you my stuff and see if we can get you a system that works so that you can really try it.

    Either way you do it you will like one more than the other. I just want you to see how easy and not very expensive it can be.

    Talk to the woman (a.k.a. my diaper making girl) with 12 children who did it. She helped me a lot.

    PS. I’ve never used a spatula… that part is great. I can see you now. Spatulaing poo into the toilet!

Leave a Reply

