a whole new world

aladdin_jasmine_carpet

I’ve discovered a whole new world, a new fantastic point of view, but now from way up here, its crystal clear, now I’m in a whole new world with you (now I’m in a whole new world). Unbelievable sights, indescribable feelings, soaring, tumbling, free wheeling, on a magic carpet ride … oh, sorry, got a little carried away!

But seriously, I’ve found something interesting.  Everyone has their own opinions as to what is the “best” way to raise and care for a child.  From diapering to toys, the subject can get a little heated.  After much research, I’ve decided on a few things for my family.  Charlotte only uses glass bottles, I use home-made laundry soap, and I buy as much natural/organic food as I can.  And in the pursuit of having a healthy family and environment, I’ve discovered somethings.  People think I’m crazy for using glass bottles (fyi, they are made out of tempered glass, like your car windows, so they don’t just shatter), wanting to cloth diaper, and breastfeed exclusively for at least the first 6 months, among other things.  But the thing that I’ve discovered is this … people who are more natural/granola/organic/green, whatever you wanna call them, are always more than willing to help you out.  Whether it be advice, practical instructions, encouragement, or actual products, they want to help you succeed in your efforts.  Just this week, based on a post I made a few days ago about my struggles with cloth diapering, I was given several cloth diapering accessories by two different people to help me make cloth diapering easier.

If you have chosen a different way to raise your baby, rock on.  Whatever you choose, just make sure it works for your family and you are happy with it.  All I’m offering here is an observation about the helpfulness of the Green Community.  And I’m really excited to one day be able to pass along the information and wisdom I learn along the way to another mom who is looking to make a change.

2 thoughts on “a whole new world

Leave a Reply

