so much and so little

I didn’t leave the house at all yesterday.  And I won’t be leaving the house tomorrow.  That’s just how my Thursdays and Saturdays are.  So I desperately want to get out of the house today.  Friday is Jamie’s day off, so we usually do something fun.  But the playset people are here power-washing, so we have to stay until they leave.  And there are so many things I want to do, but I feel like I’m tied down because every 3 hours I have to stop, sit down for an hour to feed Charlotte, burp her, and get her changed. Which really only leaves a 2 hour window to do something in, but before I can do something I need to interact and play with Charlotte, after all, isn’t that my job??. So I’m left with about an hour to an hour and a half to get something done.

I want to rearrange my bedroom. I want to set up my craft closet.  I want to start my coupon binder.  I want to start and finish one of my sewing projects.  I don’t want to clean the house. I don’t want to do laundry.  I want the dogs to be outside b/c they smell.  I want to swing on my swingset.  I want to go for a lovely walk through the woods.  I want to take a long shower.  I want to sit outside and read a book.  I don’t want to be inside the house.

But here I am. I feed Charlotte again in 45 minutes, but she’ll probably wake up in another 15 minutes … so the long shower idea is out the window again.  Don’t get me wrong, I love being a stay home mommy, I really do.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.  But today I am just antsy and want to scream.  Ever have a day like that?  What did you do?

111308-g

PS- I really want this.

6 thoughts on “so much and so little

  1. Wow, I think you just described how I felt almost every day when I was at home. And as far as ‘what did I do?’ Well I think I may have really screamed. Until I switched to bottles, moved to formula, set her in the swing, put on a Disney move for the little squirt & called Grandma. Oh, & then I went back to work.
    One of the top 5 qualities on my flag-page test was ‘Independent’ so with having a newborn, I’d never felt so confined in my life, or so frustrated. Being a stay at home mom (in my opinion) requires so much more than being able to go to a job for 8hrs/day. I actually view going to work as a break for me 🙂
    Of course everyone has to do what works best for them & there are definite pros & cons to each side of the story. Sometimes I have to remind myself that at the end of the day, no matter the variation of methods, they’re all going to grow up & be just fine! You’re doing a great job & Charlotte is so fortunate to have a great mommy like you!!

  2. Yeap! I’ve had days like that and I did just what you said you want to do. I screamed. It feels good to get it out and once you do that you can deal with the baby much better. At least it worked for me anyway.

  3. I have felt what you posted about and Caleb is only 2 1/2 weeks old. All of the feedings can be overwhelming and i am just pumping! Thanks for sharing this. Its nice to see that i am not alone in feeling that way!

  4. me oh my…. as I read this, it was like going back in time. haha. Brian & I used to have to stragetically plan our outings… & even then… there wasn’t much time to do more than one thing before having to make it back home for feedings & naps. & I’m about to do it again… AHHHH. haha.

    welcome to motherhood.

Leave a Reply

