strange bedfellow

Most cultures co-sleep.  Meaning babies sleep right next to their mommy.  Before Charlotte was born, I had determined that she would NOT be sleeping in our room, let alone in our bed.  But when we came home with her, she was so little and helpless that I couldn’t bear to leave her in that big room all by herself.  So because I didn’t purchase any kind of bassinet or anything, I had to improvise.  She fit nicely in a laundry basket.  And that laundry basket fit nicely next to my bed.  So the first night she slept in that.  Then our moms stayed with us, so she slept in her crib with them right near her.  Then when they left, she went back into the laundry basket beside our bed for one more night.  We got no sleep that night.  Every noise, every whimper, every heavy breath would wake us up.  So the next night we decided to put her in her room, but we would sleep on the couches in the living room right outside her door.  The next night she slept in her bed and we slept in ours with both doors wide open.  And that is the way it has been ever since.  Except when she gets immunizations.

As I have expressed before, I do not feel that current vaccines are as safe as the doctors claim they are.  For that reason, for the 24 hours following her shots, she doesn’t leave my side.  I keep her with me so that I am right there if she begins to show signs of a reaction.  This means that she sleeps with us too.  So once a month she gets to sleep with mommy and daddy.  Well Jamie had to be outta town Thursday night, so Charlotte took his spot in bed and slept with me after her shots.  When I woke up this morning, she had wiggled over and had her tiny little bald head on the pillow next to me.  I melted.  She had her head leaning on my arm and was cooing and blowing rasberries.  She looked up at me and grinned.  Sigh. It was one of the sweetest things I have ever seen in my life! I will remember that forever.

I remember growing up when I got to spend the night with my mom.  After my dad left I kinda took his spot.  In several houses we had before my mom got remarried, I never slept in my bedroom, I slept with my mommie.  I loved it. So now whenever Jamie has to be outta town … guess who is gonna take his spot!

110508-mommy-5

One thought on “strange bedfellow

Leave a Reply

