irritant

Wow. 137 views yesterday. I guess I need to say “orgasm” on my blog more LOL. Anyway…

So I got an email the other day from Ideal Bite that was talking about a type of natural toothpaste.  Apparently it was unique because it didn’t contain “Sodium Lauryl Sulfate”.  I had never heard of this stuff, so like any good Millennial, I Googled it! I found that it is a skin irritant used in products like toothpaste, soap, shampoo, etc because it makes things foamy.  It is actually used in clinical trials to irritate skin so they can test what will heal the skin.  And they put this stuff in the products we use on our skin!  I was shocked by this, so I took a look around my bathroom and found that it was in my toothpaste, body wash, bath bubbles, and shampoo!  So I threw away the bath bubbles and body wash, and am going to use up the shampoo and toothpaste, but after that I’m buying stuff without that skin irritant.  Oh, and check this out…

Sodium Lauryl (or Laureth) Sulfate: Engine Degreaser, Garage/Concrete Floor Cleaner, Car Wash Soap; Surrounds hair follicle in shampoo to keep it from growing, causes hair to fall out; keeps children’s eyes from developing properly, causes cataracts in older people; In Toothpaste: Weakens enamel on teeth to cause cavities: SLS is very abrasive and may burn the skin, mouth, Canker sores, or scalp.

I’m so getting rid of this stuff! (Transition to real topic of blog in 3…2…1…) I’ve been thinking a lot about friendships lately.  And I’ve noticed that so many friendships have “sodium lauryl sulfate” in them.  Things that seem to make the friendship what we want (foamy), but are really just irritants (and can cause horrible side effects!).

When you make a friend, thats a pretty significant thing.  For some it is easy, for others it is more of an effort.  But when you find someone that you really connect with, that is special.  Sometimes, though, we aren’t up front with people we are trying to make friends with.  Like in dating, we want to put our best foot forward, give them the show we think they want to see.  And when we finally reach that solid “buddy” status, we begin to relax and let our real selves out of the cage.  There are times when our real selves aren’t exactly what they bargained for.  We have strange habits, quirks, ticks, ideologies, and body odors, or sometimes we are just jerks.

Last night during Sunday Night Prayer, as we were taking the salt covenant, I really thought about the people I consider my friends.  There are plenty of people that I like and know in more surface-y ways, but there are a rare few that I really consider a friend.  When I make a friend (gosh, that sounds so kindergarten to me), I really hope that they love me for me, oddities and all.  Yet, do I expect that of myself?  When they show a bizzarre or scary side of themselves, do I wanna back out and run? The salt covenant says that “I will never say or do anything on purpose to hurt you. I will always think pure thoughts about you. I will allow God to use me to heal you.”  Do I treat my friends that way?  When they say or do something hurtful, do I see that as a malicioius personal attack, or do I understand that we are humans and make mistakes but that they wouldn’t do it on purpose to hurt me?

I would hope that they know that about me.  And I am learning to understand that about them…

2 thoughts on “irritant

  1. This made me smile. I think you took the words right out of my head. It is such a truth that salt covenant. Thanks for posting this : )

Leave a Reply

