card games and baby names

If I haven’t mentioned it before, I was in Alabama for the few days following Christmas.  My maternal & paternal grandparents live there (literally up the street from each other), as well as my birth dad and his whole family.  Since my maternal grandparents had not yet met their three new great-grandchildren, the whole Cain family made the trek from NC to AL.  Jamie, Charlotte, and I stayed with my paternal grandparents, Mama D and Papa D (Dickson).  One night while we were there, Mama D taught us a new card game, “Manipulation”.  Complicated rules, but so much fun.  I won’t bore you with the details, but if you are interested, let me know … I’ll be happy to teach you! Anyway, Jamie and I are hooked.  We love it.  We stayed up until midnight last night playing.  We have started a family Google Doc to keep track of score (currently -5 for me and +15 for him, haha, I’m winning!!).  (Mama D, if you are reading this, I have -5 because with only 2 of us playing we instituted a new rule of card borrowing.  If you give someone a card when they are stuck (like Go Fish), they give you the cards value off your final score)  So yeah, card game night, anyone??

The second part of my post is for “copyright” purposes.  There are so many babies being born, and all the names I like are being taken.  There is Scarlet and Charlotte, for starters. One of the other names I loved was Emily, but now there is Emma Lynne Somerville, so that’s off the table.  Then Jamie and I were talking about what we would name the kid if we ever had another girl (the boy would have to be James 3).  We decided we liked Adelaide, because it means Noble, and call her Adele after one of my childhood mentors.  But now we have 3 babies about to be born (or just born) with names that are close: Adalyn, Anabelle, and Adalay (SP on those??).  Seriously people??  So, in order to have a dated record that I chose this name first, I am letting you in on the name that we are considering for another daughter: Reagan Lynn.  Reagan means Royal, and Lynn is my middle name and my mommie’s middle name.

No, we are not expecting another child yet. I’m not pregnant. We aren’t planning on it for at least a little longer.  So go ahead and stop those rumors now.  I just want to make sure that everyone knows that I chose that name first and I wasn’t copying anyone else’s name!

On a side note, I’m feelin’ icky today.  I’ll spare you the details, but I probably won’t be eating salmon anytime soon.  Even though what I’m fighting probably isn’t food poisoning (Jamie’s mommie has the ickies, and my brother too), I had salmon for dinner last night and the “issues” began this morning. So anywhoo… I’m gonna go suck on another peppermint stick.  Happy New Year!  See you in 2009!

4 thoughts on “card games and baby names

  1. You are a trip! I’m sorry you’re not feeling well. I’d lend you some of my vikadin but 1)I think that’s illegal & 2)It would probably make you feel worse. Happy New Year!

  2. I def. want to learn a new card game. We have one we play in the neighborhood called nertz and I am hooked.

    Oh and by the way Jen Jump already has the name Reagan if hers is a girl. And Paul and I are naming ours Megan if it is a girl. Not trying to spoil anything for you guys, but just thought I would let you know.

  3. Hey girl…Reagan is a good choice..we had planned to go with that…we are also considering Ella Elizabeth. But nothing says there can’t be more Reagans in the world.

  4. Haha! You are hilarious! We’re still deciding on ours but I’ll let you know when we have nailed it down! Hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

