i just call you mine

This summer has been challenging. In many ways.  We put our house on the market, we’ve been meticulously watching Charlotte’s weight gain, and Jamie has traveled. Oh has that man traveled.  And its been the traveling that has been the most challenging.

I should know and understand what my husband does for a living and why travel is a part of it. But that doesn’t make the long days by myself any easier. To be honest, I’ve had a hard time not being mad about it. “Oh great, you’re going to be gone for ANOTHER week. Yay.” And sometimes that lack of enthusiasm has spilled out into public view. Which is wrong. It doesn’t matter how I feel about any situation, I should always be the picture of support and encouragement to the outside world.  But ya know, God has a funny way of reminding me of things.

I was reading blogs today, like I do every morning, and I read a post a wife had written about her husband’s birthday.  This passage especially caught my attention:

“He was full of adventures, tales of travels, and a sparkle in his blue eyes that told me his adventuring had only just begun. I had known nothing in my life as strongly and instantly as I knew that day that I wanted to be on whatever adventure he was on.”

That is exactly how I felt when I met Jamie.  I was young, excited about life, and wanted big adventures to go on.  Jamie had the same passion.  So why now, when he is finally living out his dreams and adventures, do I sit back and whine about it?  Being the mother of his children is the biggest adventure I can be a part of, being his wife is so exciting, being his ministry partner just takes my breath away. I, me, Jennifer, get to be in the passenger seat of his adventures. I get to go with him where he goes. Maybe not physically all the time, but I’m there. We are on adventures together. What is more exciting than that?? The day-to-day of those adventures aren’t always glamorous, and can be kind of mundane.  I mean, reaching the summit of Mt. Everest is accomplished by a lot of tedious work.  But its worth it.

I heard this song on the radio the other day, and it had me in tears. This is EXACTLY how I feel about Jamie. “Everyone who sees you, always wants to know you. Everyone who knows you, always wears a smile. Everyone calls you amazing, I just call you mine.”

3 thoughts on “i just call you mine

  1. that’s just awesome. from beginning to end. thank you for being so candid & thank you for finding a new & beautiful perspective!… simply beautiful! I reaaly love it.

Leave a Reply

