3 M&Ms

I know one day my daughter will be surfing the interweb, and will stumble upon this blog. She’ll read it, have some laughs, a few cries, and when she read’s this post… she’ll be mortified. TeeHee.

So this whole potty training thing has been, well, interesting. There was a distinct window of time when she had just turned one and was totally interested in the potty. She loved to sit on it, even though she hadn’t quite connected it to its actual function.  But then our lives got kinda crazy, and we put potty training on the back burner.  We put our house on the market, and so having a little potty in the bathroom was “unsightly”, then we sold our house and moved in with my mother-in-law, and I was just lazy… for 7 months.  Then we bought our new house and went to Costa Rica for a month, then came back and moved into our new house.  At that point I was at the beginning of my pregnancy, so I felt this HUGE urgency to get her potty trained because I did NOT want two kids in diapers.

So we tried verbal rewards. Then we tried the cute Princess Potty books. Then we tried stickers. Then I was informed of the amazingness that is M&Ms.  And let me tell you it was awesome. Duh, I should have known. A girl will do anything for chocolate!! So the deal was 1 M&M for #1 and 2 M&Ms for #2.  She had #1 down like a champ.  But #2 wasn’t happening.  Something, somewhere, sometime had made her decide she didn’t want to poop in the potty.  Nothing would convince her. She knew she needed to poop and knew she wasn’t supposed to poop in her undies, but she did NOT want to poop in that potty. So she would fuss and cry and whine until I thought she might explode, and I’d break down and put her in a diaper. Mostly because I knew the inevitable was coming and I just wasn’t up for cleaning that mess up.  And she’d happy as can be do her business then promptly say “mommy, I’m stinky, change me”.  Oh that got my blood boiling every time!

Well tonight, a miracle happened. During dinner she announced that she needed to poo-poo.  So we went to the bathroom, I took my book with me, fully expecting it to be a brief ordeal of her getting on the potty, singing some songs and being silly, then deciding she didn’t want to poop.  But this time I was able to coax her into staying on the potty. We even went so far as to do some positive potty confessions, haha. “I do want to poop on the potty. I can poop on the potty.”  And then suddenly, it happened.  The heavens parted, the angels sang, and she was so excited to say “Bye Bye Poo Poo”!!

In our excitement, we upped the reward. The girl walked away with 3 M&Ms … and quickly decided she wanted to poop again.

Leave a Reply

