Enter the Third

I know I’ve needed to post this for a long time, but I’ve been just trying to wrap my brain around the whole experience.  It was unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. The birth of my son was … amazing.

My daughters birth was not at all what I had expected. I wanted a quick natural delivery.  But, to keep a long story short, I was basically induced, was in labor for 24 hours, and (thankfully) got some much needed drugs! It left me seriously looking for other options.  So with my son, I went to see the midwives at the Women’s Birth and Wellness Center in Chapel Hill.

My pregnancy was easy, nothing really much to say about it.  I went over due with my daughter, so I wasn’t sure when I’d go into labor with my son.  I went in for an appointment at 39wk 4d, and was already about 3cm.  And for me, that was a MAJOR milestone because I never reached that point on my own before.  So I went home, and the contractions started.  When they got to 6 minutes apart, I called the midwives. It was Jewel who was on call, the one midwife I’d only briefly met once.  We decided that I should come on in, since I lived over an hour away. So we called my brother-in-law, who came to stay with our daughter, and off we went.  We got there and were the only ones in the birthing center. I had progressed a little bit since that morning’s appointment, but if we had lived closer she would have sent us home.  (Yay for living in Youngsville! lol) Jewel was awesome, she came in and asked if we needed anything, then said she was going to go sleep and to wake her if we needed something.  So Jamie and I were left to rest and work through the milder beginning contractions.  At about midnight, we called our moms and told them to come on over, since we didn’t know how fast it would progress.  I wasn’t resting well, and they gave me the option of getting a small dose of Nubain, which is the narcotic I had during my daughter’s delivery.  I really struggled with this decision.  The Nubain had knocked me out enough with my daughter that I was able to relax and get through the horrible Pitocin-induced delivery, but it also made me really hazy so I didn’t remember much about the actual event.  I knew I didn’t want to do that again, but I knew I needed to rest before the labor became “real”.  So instead I opted for a hot shower and some Tylenol.  It was just what I needed.  I was able to relax, and was even able to mentally deal with contractions instead of breathing through them.  I even feel asleep between contractions!  At around 4am, though, that all changed.

The contractions got more intense and were peaking very close to each other.  I was so thankful then for the amazing advice my dear friend Charity had given me the day before. She reminded me that God would get me through it. He had created my body for this purpose, and He would see me through.  So there I was, sitting on the birthing ball in a darkened room, listening to my all-time favorite cd and the song came on that said, “Come to Me, and rest”.  I get tears in my eyes just remembering it.  It was so peaceful in that room.  I knew God was there, I knew I could do this, I just knew.  I was praying and talking with Him like I hadn’t in a very long time. It was awesome.

(Side note- Jewel and the nurse that was there were incredible.  So calm and peaceful. Exactly what I needed.  The nurse even came in and gave me an amazing neck and back massage!)

Then, because God knew what I would need and when I would need it, Jewel’s shift was over and Kate came.  She was more stern and strong, and she really supported me through the difficult hours to follow.  And Emily, who was the midwife-in-training who was assisting was just awesome. She had been a labor & delivery nurse for many years and she just knew what I needed to hear and how to keep things moving along.

After many hours, several pep-talks, a few doubting moments, another shower, and one amazing birthing tub … my sweet boy entered the world at 1:37pm on Saturday, January 8th.  8lb 13oz of pure blessing.

One thought on “Enter the Third

Leave a Reply

