Building Courage

When I first started my blog, it had something generic at the top, like my name or something.  But as I read more and more blogs, I decided that I needed a name for this blog. Something to indicate what in the world I’m talking about.  The majority of my life, as reflected by the majority of my posts, are about my adventures as a momma.  So what could concisely describe my role as a mom?  I decided on Guiding Beauty and Building Courage.  At the time, I only had Charlotte, so I just named it Guiding Beauty. But I knew someday I’d have a son, and that day is here. Well, it actually got here like 15 weeks ago, but whatever.  Now its time to add the newest name– Building Courage.

You can read about why I chose Guiding Beauty, so I won’t recap it for you. Lets just jump straight into Building Courage.  If I could choose one trait to foster in my son, it would be Courage.  And I don’t think it is a quality that is naturally born into us.  Beauty is inherently in there, because God created each of us in His image, but that beauty must be guided in order to reach its full potential.  But courage, I think has to be built.  I must teach and train my son to be courageous.

Last week at Leadership Update, Pastor Jody talked about being Strong and Courageous.  In the story of Moses and the Israelites in the desert, there is a character named Joshua. He also has his own book in the Bible, but we’ll get to that later.  Let’s start back with Moses.  The first time Joshua is ever mentioned in the Bible is when the children of Israel have their first battle, against the Amalekites. This is the battle where the Israelites were winning as long as Moses held up his arms (whole other leadership teaching there!!). Joshua was around 20, and he finds himself in charge of an army of recently freed slaves. No real battle training, yet he is tasked with choosing, building, and leading the army.    You’d think THAT had to take some serious courage! So, fast forward to Exodus 24, and here Joshua is Moses’ armor bearer, or personal assistant.  He literally sits outside the tent when Moses talks with God. This same Joshua is the one that told Moses that they could take the Promised Land, despite the report of the other 10 spies (Num.14).  So, with all of that amazingness, you’d think that if anyone had natural courage, it was him.  Yet in Deuteronomy 1:38, Moses instructs the people to “encourage” Joshua.  EN means to pour into, so “encourage” means to pour courage into.  Moses was telling the people to continually pour courage into Joshua. And Moses does it again in Deut.31! God Himself even reminds Moses to encourage Joshua in Deut.3:28!  And then in Joshua 1:5-9, God tells him to “be strong and courageous”3 times!

All of that tells me that even the greatest men of God in history needed courage to be built into them … continually!  So, I think that the greatest thing I can give my son is continual encouragement.  And that’s no easy task!

Leave a Reply

